Skip to navigation Skip to main content

The Department of Natural Resources and Mines and the Department of Energy and Water Supply have been combined to create the new Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

We will continue to update this website while we work on our new website.

Have your say on proposed name changes

1 December 2017

Members of the public and community groups are invited to have their say proposals to change the names of two mountains between Rockhampton and Yeppoon.

Department of Natural Resources and Mines (DNRM) Executive Director Central Region Darren Moor said the proposals involved renaming Jim Crow Mountain as Baga and Mount Wheeler as Gai-i.

“The mountains are sacred to the area’s custodians, the Darumbal People, who have a strong desire for the name of the mountains to revert back to their traditional names – Baga and Gai-i,” Mr Moor said.

“For many in the community, the current names recall frontier violence, are considered offensive and continue to cause pain and suffering for the Darumbal People.

“The proposed names are traditional Darumbal names for the mountains and are linked to a Dreaming story about the importance of showing respect, and obeying Elders and the lore.

“Already, the Department of National Parks, Sport and Racing and Livingstone Shire Council have indicated support for the proposals which are seen as furthering reconciliation within the community.

“The public and community groups can now make submissions on the new proposal until the close of consultation on 2 February 2018.”

All feedback is considered by the Minister for Natural Resources and Mines before a decision is made on whether to accept, modify or reject the proposal.

Queensland place name plans QPN1383 and QPN1384 show the location of the places considered under the proposals and may be viewed at the Queensland Place Names section on the DNRM website –

The plans may also be viewed at the Department of Natural Resources and Mines on Level 1 of the State Government Building, 209 Bolsover Street, Rockhampton.

Submissions in writing, either in support of or against the proposal, can be submitted online at or sent to Queensland Place Names, Department of Natural Resources and Mines, GPO Box 2454, Brisbane Qld 4001.

Enquiries about the proposals should be directed to 13 QGOV or by emailing

Contact: Brad Muir
Phone: 3199 8253


Last updated: 1 December 2017

The Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy is an economic development agency that enables the productive and responsible use of our natural resources – water, land, mineral and energy resources – to generate wealth and prosperity for current and future generations of Queenslanders.

A proud White Ribbon Accredited Workplace, in recognition of the active steps taken to recognise, prevent, respond and support staff affected by domestic and family violence. We are committed to creating a safe, inclusive and respectful workplace.

Connect with us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Mining alerts
  • Twitter
Gas safety
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Contact us

Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy
13 QGOV (13 74 68) business hours
Visit the contact us page for specific enquiries
Visit the Media centre