Skip to navigation Skip to main content

The Department of Natural Resources and Mines and Department of Energy and Water Supply have been combined to create the new Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

We will continue to update this website while we work on our new website.

Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council

Queensland contributes to the national resource agenda through participation at Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council and is progressing work programs to achieve a harmonised national approach to resource development.

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council is a ministerial forum for the Australian Government, states and territories and New Zealand, to work together in the pursuit of national energy and resources reforms.

It provides a forum for collaboration between jurisdictions with overarching responsibility and policy leadership for Australian gas and electricity markets.

The Honourable Dr Anthony Lynham MP, Minister for State Development and Minister for Natural Resources and Mines, represents Queensland resources interests at the COAG Energy Council.

Senior Committee of Officials (SCO)

This group supports the work of the Energy Council and comprises officials at head of department of agency level. It is chaired by

Mr Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

The SCO representative for the Department of Natural Resources and Mines is the Deputy Director-General, Policy and Program Support, as delegated by the Director-General, Department of Natural Resources and Mines.

SCO generally meets 8 times a year (4 face-to-face and 4 telepresence) to monitor and progress Energy Council working group projects and initiate and consider draft agenda and papers for upcoming ministerial meetings (which occur twice a year).

The SCO representative attends Energy Council with the Minister by way of support and background on any issues from the working groups.

Resources Advisory Panel (RAP)

The Resources Advisory Panel (RAP) provides strategic oversight of the COAG Energy Council’s resources agenda.

The Executive Director, Land Policy represents the Resources Policy and Engagement Group on the RAP. The Resources Advisory Panel comprises SCO Sponsors and chairpersons of each resources working group as listed below.

Working groups

Three resources working groups support the Energy Council’s work programs on resources. These are:

  • Upstream Petroleum Resources Working Group
    The role of this group is to optimise policy and regulatory settings, to reduce costs and support ongoing and increased investment confidence in the exploration and development of Australia’s upstream resources. These include petroleum, geothermal energy, offshore minerals and underground gas storage through consistent and best practice regulatory frameworks and operations nationally.
  • Geoscience Working Group
    This group is responsible for exploration investment attraction and geoscience.
  • Resources Policy and Engagement Working Group (RPEWG)
    The (RPEWG) work plan focuses on addressing issues impacting on investment in resources exploration and development (e.g. land access and social licence).

Find out more

Read more about the COAG Energy Council.

Contact us

For more information about the role of Queensland at the COAG Energy Council, please contact us.



Last updated: 29 November 2017

The Department of Natural Resources and Mines is an economic development agency that enables the productive and responsible use of our natural resources – water, land, mineral and energy resources – to generate wealth and prosperity for current and future generations of Queenslanders.

A proud White Ribbon Accredited Workplace, in recognition of the active steps taken to recognise, prevent, respond and support staff affected by domestic and family violence. We are committed to creating a safe, inclusive and respectful workplace.

Connect with us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Mining alerts
  • Twitter
Gas safety
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Contact us

Department of Natural Resources and Mines
13 QGOV (13 74 68) business hours
Visit the contact us page for specific enquiries
Visit the Media centre