Skip to navigation Skip to main content

The Department of Natural Resources and Mines and Department of Energy and Water Supply have been combined to create the new Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

We will continue to update this website while we work on our new website.

Mines Inspectorate contacts

General enquiries

Contact our general enquiries numbers or your local Mines Inspectorate office (see below).

  • 13QGOV (13 74 68) within Australian
  • +617 3405 0985 (+10 hours UTC) international callers

Emergency

In case of a mine emergency, please use the following contact numbers.

  • Mines Inspectorate: 07 3237 1696 (for emergencies only)
  • Queensland Mine Rescue Service (QMRS): 1800 767 720
  • Simtars: 07 3830 5564 or 1800 331 991
  • Explosives emergency

Locations and staff

Mines Inspectorate head office

Head office
PO Box 15216
City East Qld 4002

Level 4, 1 William Street
Brisbane Qld 4000
Phone: (07) 3199 8001

Position title Name Email Phone
Chief Inspector of Mineral Mines and Quarries Rocchi, Luca luca.rocchi@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8003
Chief Inspector of Coal Mines Albury, Russell russell.albury@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8004
Deputy Chief Inspector of Coal MinesDobson, Shaunshaun.dobson@dnrm.qld.gov.au4999 8502
Senior Inspector of Mines (Electrical) Kabel, John john.kabel@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8011
Senior Inspector of Mines (Mechanical) Logan, Anthony anthony.logan@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8013
Senior Inspector of Mines Rasche, Tilman tilman.rasche@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8047
Abandoned Mines Coordinator Kadletz, Oskar oskar.kadletz@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8039
Secretary, Board of Examiners Mason, Gayle gayle.mason@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3199 8045

Mineral mines and quarries (south region)

Coorparoo office
PO Box 1475
Coorparoo Qld 4151

Podium 2, Ground Floor Landcentre
867 Main Street
Cnr Vulture and Main Streets
Woolloongabba Qld 4102
Phone: (07) 3330 4272
sthmines@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Incident reporting: (07) 3330 4273 (diverts to the on-call inspector)

Position title Name Email Phone
Regional Inspector of Mines / 
Inspector of Mines (Electrical) 
Smith, Lionel lionel.smith@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4250
Principal Investigation Officer Barron, John john.barron@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4271
Principal Investigation Officer Jacobs, Mick mick.jacobs@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4269
Inspector of Mines (Mechanical) Maharage, Jay jay.maharage@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4251
Inspector of Mines (Small Mines) Scott, Wayne wayne.scott@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4252
Inspector of Mines Esterhuizen, Deon deon.esterhuizen@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4254
Inspector of Mines Smith, Colin colin.smith@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4255
Inspector of Mines Vinnicombe, Jacqui jacqui.vinnicombe@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4256
District Workers' Representative Riches, Murray murray.riches@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3330 4265

Coal mines (south region)

Rockhampton Regional office
PO Box 3679
Red Hill, Rockhampton Qld 4701

25 Yeppoon Road
Parkhurst Qld 4702
Phone: (07) 4936 0184
rockyminesinsp@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Incident reporting: 1300 882 096 (diverts to the on-call inspector on weekends and adjoining public holidays - typically from 4pm Fridays until 8am Monday)

Position title Name Email Phone
Regional Inspector of Coal Mines Poynter, Kevin kevin.poynter@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0125
Inspector of Mines Callinan, Graham graham.callinan@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0119
Inspector of Mines Randolph, Neil neil.randolph@dnrm.qld.gov.au 3810 6382
Inspector of Mines Kahl, Theo theo.kahl@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0127
Inspector of Mines Bulger, Cres creswick.bulger@dnrm.qld.gov.au 0427 288 663
Inspector of Mines (Electrical) Atkinson, Neville neville.atkinson@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0130
Inspector of Mines (Electrical) Sullivan, Paul paul.sullivan@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0117
Inspector of Mines (Mechanical) McWilliam, Mick mick.mcwilliam@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0141
Inspector of MinesSteve Smithsteve.smith@dnrm.qld.gov.au4936 0120
Principal Investigation Officer Broadfoot, Andrew andrew.broadfoot@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4936 0116

Mineral mines and quarries (north region)

Townsville District office
PO Box 1752
Townsville Qld 4810

Verde Tower
Level 10, 445 Flinders Street
Townsville Qld 4810
Phone: (07) 4447 9248
tsvmines@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Incident reporting: (07) 4447 9282 (diverts to the on-call inspector)

Position title Name Email Phone
Deputy Chief Inspector of Mines Fasching, Hermann hermann.fasching@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9242
Regional Inspector of Mines
(Townsville & Atherton)
Brown, Trevor trevor.brown@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9253
Senior Inspector of Mines (Mining) Devine, Julie julie.dryden@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9252
Inspector of Mines (Mining) Towers, Noel
(based in Mackay office)
noel.towers@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8507
Inspector of Mines (Small Mines) Firth, Steve steven.firth@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9245
Inspector of Mines (Mechanical) Graham, Alan alan.graham@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9250
Senior Principal Occupational Hygienist
(Authorised Officer)
Desira, Mark mark.desira@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9254
Authorised Officer Horsburgh, Richard
(based in Atherton office)
richard.horsburgh@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4095 7023
Principal Investigation OfficerJacobs, Mickmick.jacobs@dnrm.qld.gov.au4447 9244
District Workers' Representative Bouchardt, Des des.bouchardt@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9256

Atherton office
PO Box 210
Atherton Qld 4883

25 Mabel Street
Atherton Qld 4883
Phone: (07) 4095 7023
tsvmines@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Coal mines (north region)

Mackay office
PO Box 1801
Mackay Qld 4740

Level 5, 44 Nelson Street
Mackay Qld 4740
Phone: (07) 4999 8512
minesmackay@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Incident reporting: 1300 882 096 (diverts to the on-call inspector on weekends and adjoining public holidays - typically from 4pm Fridays until 8am Monday)

Position title Name Email Phone
Regional Inspector of Coal MinesMarlborough, Lesleslie.marlborough@dnrm.qld.gov.au4999 8510
Senior Inspector of Mines (Electrical) Herbert, Peter peter.herbert@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8505
Inspector of Mines (Mining) Gouldstone, Richard richard.gouldstone@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8509
Inspector of Mines (Mining) Brennan, Keith keith.brennan@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8503
Inspector of Mines (Mining) Brown, Paul paul.brown2@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8501
Inspector of Mines (Occupational Hygiene) Djukic, Fritz fritz.djukic@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8504
Inspector of Mines (Mechanical)Matt Kennedymatt.kennedy@dnrm.qld.gov.au4999 8512
Inspector of Mines (Mechanical)Mick Scullymick.scully@dnrm.qld.gov.au4999 8506
Senior Principal Ergonomist - Human Factors Tilbury, Trudy trudy.tilbury@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8508
Principal Investigations Officer Smith, Andrew andrew.smith@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4999 8513

Mineral mines and quarries (north west region)

Mount Isa office
PO Box 334
Mount Isa Qld 4825

13 Isa Street
Mount Isa Qld 4825
Phone: (07) 4747 2158
isamines@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Incident reporting: (07) 4747 2151 (diverts to the on-call inspector)

Position title Name Email Phone
Regional Inspector of Mines Casey, Phillip phil.casey@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4747 2039
Senior Inspector of Mines (Chem / Met) Lee, Damian damian.lee@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4747 2157
Inspector of Mines (Geomech) Ormonde, Katie katie.ormonde@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4447 9247
Inspector of Mines Sur, Asok asok.sur@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4747 2184
Inspector of Mines (Electrical) Smith, Jon jon.smith@dnrm.qld.gov.au 4747 2160
District Workers’ RepresentativeCarson, Stevesteve.carson@dnrm.qld.gov.au4747 2114

Share

Last updated: 6 November 2017

Information

Connect with us

Follow us for the latest mining, gas safety, land and water news, info and events

Follow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Youtube


The Department of Natural Resources and Mines is an economic development agency that enables the productive and responsible use of our natural resources – water, land, mineral and energy resources – to generate wealth and prosperity for current and future generations of Queenslanders.

A proud White Ribbon Accredited Workplace, in recognition of the active steps taken to recognise, prevent, respond and support staff affected by domestic and family violence. We are committed to creating a safe, inclusive and respectful workplace.

Connect with us

Water
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Land
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Mining
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Mining alerts
  • Twitter
Gas safety
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Contact us

Department of Natural Resources and Mines
13 QGOV (13 74 68) business hours
Visit the contact us page for specific enquiries
Visit the Media centre