Skip to navigation Skip to main content

The Department of Natural Resources and Mines and the Department of Energy and Water Supply have been combined to create the new Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

We will continue to update this website while we work on our new website.

Explosives Inspectorate contacts

explosives 24 hour hotline graphic, 1300739868

Emergency response service and emergency complaints

  • To make a complaint concerning immediate and urgent matters involving explosives (including fireworks and blasting) contact your local police.
  • To report an accident or emergency contact the Explosives Hotline 1300 739 868.

General enquiries

For general enquiries 24/7 for any explosives related matter call 13 25 23.

Head office: Explosives Inspectorate

Contact head office about all licence renewals and explosive authorisations.

Level 4
1 William Street
Brisbane QLD 4000

PO Box 15216
City East QLD 4002

Phone: (07) 3199 8023
Fax: (07) 3224 7768

Regional enquiries: inspectors and licensing

Contact your regional licensing officer about all new licences, licence amendments and notifications (e.g. blasting, import, export, fireworks).

Southern region

Area covered

  • from the state border with New South Wales to Hervey Bay in the north
  • west to the Northern Territory border (postcode areas from 4000 to 4659)
  • all interstate inquiries from New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia.

Inspectors and licensing officers

Podium 2
Ground Floor
Cnr Main and Vulture Streets
Woolloongabba QLD 4102

PO Box 1475
Coorparoo QLD 4151

Phone: (07) 3330 4171
Fax: (07) 3405 5345

Central region

Area covered

  • from north of Hervey Bay to Proserpine
  • west to the Northern Territory border (postcode areas from 4660 to 4800).

Inspectors and licensing officers

Inspectors and licensing officers
25 Yeppoon Road
Parkhurst QLD 4701

PO Box 3679 Red Hill
North Rockhampton QLD 4701

Phone: (07) 4936 0187
Fax: (07) 4936 4805

Northern region

Area covered

  • from north of Proserpine and west to the Northern Territory border (postcode areas from 4801 to 4895)
  • all enquiries from the Northern Territory.

Inspectors and licensing officers

Level 10
Verde Tower
445 Flinders Street
Townsville QLD 4810

PO Box 1752
Townsville QLD 4810

Phone: (07) 4447 9277
Fax: (07) 4447 9280

Government explosives reserves


Phone: (07) 4612 9400
Fax: (07) 4612 9412


Phone: (07) 4934 6173
Fax: (07) 4934 6171

Brookhill and Queerah

Phone: (07) 4447 9278
Fax: (07) 4055 4250


Last updated: 5 January 2018


Connect with us

Follow us for the latest mining, gas safety, land and water news, info and events

Follow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Youtube

The Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy is an economic development agency that enables the productive and responsible use of our natural resources – water, land, mineral and energy resources – to generate wealth and prosperity for current and future generations of Queenslanders.

A proud White Ribbon Accredited Workplace, in recognition of the active steps taken to recognise, prevent, respond and support staff affected by domestic and family violence. We are committed to creating a safe, inclusive and respectful workplace.

Connect with us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Mining alerts
  • Twitter
Gas safety
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Contact us

Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy
13 QGOV (13 74 68) business hours
Visit the contact us page for specific enquiries
Visit the Media centre